As some of you know I’ve had a blog over at LiveJournal for, well, for 10 years it turns out. Wow, that’s a long time. For the most part I used it for mass link dumping. “Here’s another 20 links that I found interesting this week.” You get the idea. I did occasionally do some proper posts but they were relatively few and far between. Now, like almost everyone I know personally who had a blog, I’ve mostly stopped posting. I believe that most of my friends who used to post on LJ now use FaceBook. I’ve not been on FB myself for years but now I use Twitter for my link dumping exercises.

That said, I’ve been meaning to start trying “proper” blogging for some time. There’s a lot of things I come across that I think “that would make a good blog post” but it’s always been an issue of what my friend Andy calls “arseingearation”.

So, I’ve created this new blog with the intention of doing proper posts about politics, religion, science, education, technology and anything else that seems like a good idea at the time. I’m not going to write anything personal here – what little I do of that will be on Twitter.

I intend to try and do at least 3 decent posts a week – not counting anything copied over from LJ. If I manage to do that for at least a month I’ll start sharing this blog with other people.

Let’s see what happens :-).

