It’s “India Day” (60th anniversary of Independance) today so everyone, including me, has the day off.

The guardian has some excellent articles about India up at the moment. I encourage you to read them. Next time I come here I’m definitly going to have to try and remember Bangalore Walks.
I’ll leave you with a quote from one of the articles :

“… inadequate, sometimes collapsing, infrastructure: roads, railways, sewers, drinking water, schools, electricity. The second is the growing divide between urban and rural India. Despite increasing urbanisation, about 70% of the population still live in agricultural villages. The reverse side of the economic liberalisation that made India’s software industry possible is the crisis of Indian agriculture. Poor crop prices, exhausted soil, expensive fertiliser, falling water tables, and land that needs to sustain too many livelihoods: so far this year 1,000 Karnataka farmers are said to have killed themselves. And yet the odd thing, the thing that a more curious American executive might ask their guide, Arun Pai, is: given that the price (80 rupees, about £1) of a six-minute local call from my grand hotel surpasses the daily wage of the sugar-cane cutter in a field a few miles away, how come there is so little anger and unrest in Bangalore?”

“I asked about the prospects of discontent, given the disparities of wealth in Bangalore. Bagchi said: ‘Tell me, where is the angst, where is the senseless killing? They’re not even restless. They’re not just content, they’re quite grateful. Most people, labourers, maidservants, are making a better living. It doesn’t occur to my driver that he has every right to be as well-dressed as I am. Just doesn’t occur to him. You have to understand, we don’t have a sense of urgency, our civilisation is 3,600 years old. For most Indians, it’s been an upgrade from coach to business class. They’re grateful to be where they are'”.

