I don’t know if it’s cameras or lighting but the BBC has some way of making the programs it produces look really cheap…

If you can get yourself into the “it’s a pantomime” mindset that is also required for the new Dr Who (and you can look past the fact that no-one seems to give a damn when people die) it’s not bad… It has zero tension and the characters are pretty cardboard but it certainly has some potential.

What I can’t understand is why it “realness” of Life on Mars or even something like Lost. In those shows the characters feel like they are really there whereas in Torchwood the reality-gap is too obvious and they feel like actors on a stage…

Anyway – looks like it will be fun and is worth sticking around to see if it gets better – especially with the P.J.Hammond episode comming up.

I never ever thought I’d say I miss Billy Piper…

