Firstly an excellent article on social group dynamics by Clay Shirky. I think David especially will find it interesting – while I’m here I think it would be an excellent idea if you set yourself up with an LJ…

Also, I’ve reciently finished reading Harmful to Minors: The Perils of Protecting Children From Sex. I was saddened, but not remotely surprised, to hear how the author, Judith Levine, was pillored in the American press for suggesting the children are secual beings and that teaching “abstinence only” leads to all the problems (STDs, teenage pregnancies) that it is supposed to cure. On finishing the book I emailed the author thanking her for standing up to the inevitable criticism and was pleasently surprised to have her immediately write back to thank me in turn. Before the days of email I wouldn’t have made the effort to write and she certainly wouldn’t have time to send letters back to everyone who got in contact.

