I find it interesting. I’ve been dealing with Powergen reciently. I’ve been with them for electricity since I moved in here in Feb 01. Since then I’ve never been happy with what they’ve been billing me but until recently the repeated attempts to fix it have always ended up with small repayments that put me off properly sorting it out. However this time around when I asked them to have another go they tried to bill me an an £1,700! Needless to say I was not exactly pleased by this and reported them to the official ombudsman. Anyway, that has now been sorted out and it turns out I have been substantially overpaying them for years and I’m due a big refund.

Regardless, that isn’t the point of this post. The girl who deals with the official complaints and I have been having a very pleasent too-and-fro conversation over email. It started off being about the details of the problem and latterly we have chatted about what we would each do with the money and a bit about ourselves (her family, the fact that her and <lj user=”alobear”> both come from Bolton ,etc). What interests me is that by putting a human face on the company I am now convinced to stay with them even though the majority of dealings with them have been rubbish for the last 5 years. Since the majority of companies attempt to put over a “professional” faceless persona when dealing with custimers it makes them all the same and easy to interchange. By making Powergen more “real” Tracy has made it more difficult for me to leave. A lesson many could learn I think…

