So while I’m waiting…

The US Senate has passed a law that makes it illegal for the prisoners in Guantanamo Bay to challange their imprisonment in US federal courts. This brings them into direct conflict with the US Supreme Court after their decision in Rasul v. Bush which stated the exact opposite.

For the first time in over 200 years a proposed change in the law means that British prosecutors will have the right to question witnesses before trial. If I was in the dock this type of ‘witness coaching’ would make me very worried. On the other hand if I was a victim (this law is largely to deal with the awful prosecution statistics for rape) I would have a different opinion. Another one that is difficult to say. Have to wait and see.

Another record set for America’s titanic debt. With more of the country owned by China and other foreign states every day things aren’t looking good for the US of A. Most of this debt has been run up in the last 10 years and there is no plan to reduce the rate of increase never mind the debt burden itself – so much for the party of small government. Heavily in debt country plus mega rich micro minority plus impoverished soon-to-be majority plus lots and lots of guns… I wouldn’t like to be an American in 20 years time.

Sadly via Giblets I find a link to this which in turn links to this essay on why all Muslims are crazy evil-doers. It’s sad to think this sort of thing still exists but I suppose at least it’s better exposed.

