This morning I went for a fascinating tour around the Palace of Westminster. Annie said she the Lords greatly reminded of a palace she saw in Romania where the tourguides spoke of how excellent it was the people who met there had bled the country dry and how great it was they were gone. I learned some new things and fullfilled a 20 year old desire to see the Commons Chamber for myself – even if it was in a severe state of being rebuilt and I wasn’t allowed to sit down…

The in the afternoon I took part in the latest Stop the War Coallition march. This one was very different from the previous ones I have taken part in. For a start this one felt much smaller – I estimate a maximum of 20,000 people down from 2 million at it’s height. Secondly the people who were left were a lot more radical – I found myself often walking behind people carrying communist banners and once, very briefly, someone carrying a banner saying “Victory to the Iraqi Insurgents!”. In short I don’t know how much I ideoloigcally share with a lot of the marchers. I finally made it to Hyde Park for the speakers, first time I’ve made it that far, which was really interesting. I found them, by and large, much closer to my PoV on most things and hearing people like Tony Benn speak was excellent. I’m very far from convinced that anything we did today or anything that group of people can do will influence anyone with serious power in the Real World ™ but it is good to know that there are people out there with enough passionate belife that they are still trying to make a difference…

