“The New Yorker has a scintillating profile of Doug Feith, the UnderSecretary of Defense for Policy and a chief neocon architect of the war in Iraq. The article quotes him on his worldview: ‘I am talking about myself in the following sense: expertise is a very good thing, but it is not the same thing as sound judgment regarding strategy and policy. George W. Bush has more insight, because of his knowledge of human beings and his sense of history, about the motive force, the craving for freedom and participation in self-rule, than do many of the language experts and history experts and culture experts.'”

While getting this kind of thing off blogs I’m also listening to the audio book of Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them by Al Franken in the car when I’m commuting to Cambridge and reading No Logo by Naomi Klien when going into Waterloo. I’ve got to read some fiction at some point it’s starting to all feel a little dark and hopeless…

